•  family

    Meet Mrs. Westrom

     

         I was born in Troy, New York. When I was four, my family moved to Danvers, Massachusetts, about 30 miles outside of Boston. I lived there until I graduated from high school in 1986. My childhood was enjoyable and filled with lots of different activities. I began playing the flute in fourth grade and have continued ever since. In high school, I was in the marching band, concert band, jazz band, pit orchestra and orchestra. I played soccer when I was in junior high, but quit after that. I was in girl scouts from 2nd grade through my junior year in high school. I earned the silver award, the second highest honor in girl scouting. Horses were my passion and although I didn't have one of my own, I rode whenever I could. Young Life and church were also important parts of my high school life.


          When I graduated from high school, I went to the University of Vermont in Burlington, Vermont. Besides studying to be a teacher, I learned Spanish. My junior year, I spent a semester in Granada, Spain. It was the first of my overseas travels.


          In 1990, after graduation, I took my first teaching job in Williamstown, Vermont. It was a small rural community. I taught sixth grade there for three years. I also coached cross-country and cheer leading. After three years, I was ready for a change.


         In 1993, I took a job in Kuwait City, Kuwait. I taught a year of 6th grade, and 2 years of seventh grade math and 8th grade Spanish. I coached track and volleyball. It was a wonderful experience. I also met my husband there. I was able to travel to 18 different countries. I love to talk about where I have been, so come and ask.


         I moved to Missoula, MT in 1996 to be with my fiancé (now husband). I got married in Massachusetts on June 28, 1997. I worked with Mrs. Hanks in Florence for one year. Then I was hired here at Hellgate and am very happy to be here. I completed my masters in Curriculum and Instruction at the University of Montana in 1999.  I finished classes for my Library Endorsement in December of 2010.

         I enjoy skiing, walking, hiking, reading, watching my sons play soccer, hanging out at our cabin in Trego, MT, and making rugs.  My absolute favorite food is CHOCOLATE.  I love country music.  I am a Red Sox and Patriots fan.  I collect nativity sets - I have over 175. 

         I have two sons - Garrett, who is working for Coca-Cola and Cole, who attends Frenchtown High School, which is where my husband works.  He is a senior this year and is playing soccer.  We have a Weimaraner named Raja.  She loves to run!  

         Let me know what you are reading, I love to hear about books.